March 23, 2023

City Council

The Marshall City Council is comprised of the Mayor and six Council members. The Mayor is elected for a two-year term and six council members are elected for four-year terms. The City Council appoints the City Manager, City Attorney, City Clerk, CityTreasurer and Assessor, who serve at the pleasure of the Council.

All legislative and policy making authority of the City is vested in, exercised, and determined by the City Council. The Council is responsible for the adoption of the annual budget, appointment of members to boards and committees, adoption of ordinances and appointment of the City Manager, among various other duties.